Trip to Italy, Belgium, and the South of France

IMG_4645

I am writing you from a very sad state-of-mind. Why? You might ask. Well, because I just got back from the greatest trip I have ever taken, and I am back in the office in Athens, Georgia, probably one of my last choices of places to be on the planet.

I guess it takes a trip like this to realize how monotonous your life has gotten. I never really wanted to be in Athens at all, but my job “is a great learning experience.” Don’t get me wrong, some days I love my job. I am pretty lucky to have all the responsibility and freedom that I have, but at the end of the day, it is still a desk job, something I have never wanted. So, here I am, in this state of travel depression (that feels quite like I just experienced a bad breakup–that kind of void), and I am trying to figure out what job would allow me to be able to combine the things that I love. So, here are the things that I love. It would be great if anyone has any advice or ideas or a fresh perspective on this…

Traveling, food, cooking, different cultures, getting to know people, ponies, a strong drink, wine, science (of all kinds really), herbal medicine, and nutrition.

Okay, now how can I combine all of these?!

I honestly have no idea what I want to do right now, but I am determined to figure it out. I don’t think starting a travel blog will work. It has been done a million times in a million ways. There has to be another way.

Okay, moving on from the sadness. I am going to give you some pictures from my trip, and then start writing about it. I hope you enjoy everything that I am about to write. I’ll share some recipes and some re-creations of the food I had along the way too. I am desperately trying to find my way back, and if food is the closest I can get for now, so be it.

The Duomo de Firenze

The Duomo de Firenze

Troy in Burano, Italy

Troy in Burano, Italy

Ghent, Belgium at Night

Ghent, Belgium at Night

Our Street in Nice, France

Our Street in Nice, France

Me at the Duomo de Milano

Me at the Duomo de Milano

Leave a Reply

